Speaking of childhood dreams, most of our paths twist and turn through life like a winding road in the forest. We can never see what’s ahead because we are engulfed in our present, day-to-day lives. And every now and then, we have moments where we sit and reflect on where we were, and wonder how we got to our present place. (True to form, I hear a song in my head, and it’s Talking Heads’ “Once In a Lifetime” where David Byrne says “You may ask yourself: Well, how did I get here? Letting the days go by…) So, how did we get here? Is it by choice, circumstance, accident, Grace of God?

I think of childhood playmates who have met untimely deaths, either by homicide or suicide. As children, none of us dream of growing up and battling addictions, illnesses, or depression. It also doesn’t occur to us that we, or someone we know, could be a victim of extreme violence. And, we certainly fail to see the potential for success in those who seem to struggle in school or in social skills. But, we are often surprised to see them shine when we run into them years later.

There is something to learn from each person in our lives. I know this is not a new concept. Likewise, we have an opportunity to make a small or huge difference in someone else’s life. Have you ever been afraid to approach someone you’ve seen suffering? Felt too awkward? Didn’t know what to say? Sometimes we may say something very simple to someone in need of encouragement, but something about it has a profound impact, and causes that person to have an epiphany of sorts. A friend of mine thanked me out-of-the-blue one day for something I said to her weeks earlier when she was feeling discouraged. I thought my comment to be quite simple and matter of fact, but she said it helped her put things into perspective, and feel motivated again.

And then, I think about a childhood playmate who lived down the street when I was growing up in Freetown. After our first few years in elementary school, we grew apart. But decades later, he walked into an AA meeting that I was attending regularly. He looked depressed, uncomfortable, and out of place. I thought about going over to talk to him, see if he remembered me, and how we used to play together. But, I chose instead, to let him have his space. About a month later, someone announced at the meeting that he had committed suicide. Maybe I wouldn’t have been the one to say the one thing he needed to hear, but someone out there may have had the right words for him.

This world, in my own belief, is God’s creation, and I believe that science is slowly explaining how He did it. But, I don’t insist that anyone subscribe to that belief – because this blog is not about debating religion. But, what it is about is understanding ourselves, and how we all play an essential part in taking care of each other and this world. We may never know how many people we have touched, or never know what impact a small gesture we make has on someone’s life. But, what we do know, is that gestures of kindness have a positive impact on both ourselves and the recipient. We, as individuals, can make the world a kinder, gentler place – at least in our own little corner, and especially in our own day-to-day lives. When we choose to reach beyond our comfort zones, we have a chance to experience life in a way that broadens our horizons. Then, maybe there will be fewer times we ask ourselves “what if?”.